Books I've Reviewed


an icon image

Book Review: RED: A CRAYON'S STORY by Michael Hall

Wed Nov 15 2017

I am completely nuts about RED by Michael Hall, a 40-page picture book about a blue crayon who is mistakenly given a red label at the factory. Read more »


an icon image

My Interview with Laurie Jean Cannady, Author of CRAVE

Sat Nov 11 2017

I got to interview one of my writing heroes, Laurie Jean Cannady. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

My Interview with Thrity Umrigar, Author of Everybody's Son

Sat Nov 04 2017

I was first introduced to Dr. Thrity Umrigar’s work last spring when she and I both had the honor of having pieces we wrote performed in Lit Cleveland’s staged reading, Crossing Borders: Immigrant Narratives, a part of Cleveland State University’s Cleveland Humanities Festival. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

Interview and Giveaway with Courtney Maum, Author of Touch

Sat Sep 30 2017

It seems as if everyone is chatting IRL and online about the tractor beam hold screens have over our lives, and whether intimacy is the price of technology, or is enhanced by it. If you are wondering if we are headed towards further isolation and a “post-touch” society, read on. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

Book Review: Have You Seen CindySleigh? & Other Stories by Diane Stiglich

Tue Aug 29 2017

This book is a dream-like art-come-to-life world, where there are truths that are as immutable in this reality as in the one on the page, and stumbling across these truths is as if we find something solid to hold onto—grasping a rock after clawing at clouds. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

Interview with Erin Judge, Author of “Vow of Celibacy”

Mon Jul 24 2017

I primarily read memoir, so it took me a minute to realize that Natalie wasn’t a real person. I want to go hang out with her and drink wine, eat chocolate, talk all night. I still can’t believe she isn’t out there somewhere, designing clothes and just waiting to be my best friend. View at huffingtonpost »


an icon image

Book Review: Tilting by Nicole Harkin

Mon Jul 17 2017

It’s hard to be a kid. It’s hard to figure out where to stand or what to do when the world is constantly shifting under your feet.   Read more »


an icon image

Book Review: QueerSpawn in Love by Kellen Anne Kaiser

Sun Jul 02 2017

Even though we are both queerspawn, Kaiser’s family makes my parents look like amateurs. View at huffingtonpost »


an icon image

Book Review: Dad #1, Dad #2: A Queerspawn View From the Closet

Mon Jun 19 2017

Book review of a memoir about growing up with two dads and a mom in Boise, Idaho. Read more »


an icon image

In Conversation With Leslie Lawrence, Author of "The Death of Fred Astaire"

Wed May 24 2017

Interview style book review of a marvelous essay collection about life, learning, and teaching. There are also children and dogs. Read more »


an icon image

Book Review of Sink or Swim: Tales from the Deep End of Everywhere by Brenda Kelley Kim

Fri Dec 16 2016

That common experience of motherhood makes this book engaging, as each story reminds me of one of my own, making reading the book feel like a conversation between new friends. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

A Review of Alejandro Zambra’s Multiple Choice (translated by Megan McDowell)

Sun Oct 23 2016

Multiple Choice is a small, weird book that is best read in one sitting, so the sections can build properly on each other (which of course I didn’t actually do, because it was summer and life interfered and I am never as assiduous as I mean to be). View at weirderary »


Next Page


Want me in your inbox?

Copyright © 2017 Lara Lillibridge

Public domain imagery courtesy of Snappygoat.com


Tweet Follow Only_Mama