Books I've Reviewed


an icon image

My Various Entry Points into THE ONES WE CHOOSE

Tue May 08 2018

A good story allows the reader to enter it from multiple vantage points. THE ONES WE CHOOSE is not just a good story, but an amazing story that will linger long after you put it down. It is truly one of my favorite books of the year, maybe because I engaged with the book on multiple levels. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

Happy Birthday, FROM UNSEEN FIRE!

Tue Apr 17 2018

I am so excited about Cass Morris’s release of FROM UNSEEN FIRE! I haven’t read a ton of historical fantasy, but good writing knows no genre. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

Let's Talk About The Diminished

Thu Apr 12 2018

It's the book release of THE DIMINISHED, one of my favorite YA Fantasy novels. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

It’s The Launching of The Queen of Hearts!

Tue Feb 13 2018

Kimmery Martin, my fellow writer on The Debutante Ball, launches her novel today with Berkley (Penguin Books) View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

My 8 Favorite Books of 2017

Tue Dec 26 2017

I decided to limit myself to eight books, because eight is my lucky number. Besides, many of us have a short attention span and ten books seems to be too many. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

Book Review of The Missing Girl by Jacqueline Doyle

Fri Dec 15 2017

The Missing Girl is comprised of eight separate stories, each only a few pages long. Told from the point of view of perpetrators, victims, and friends of victims, each chapter is a stand-alone story about a girl who was preyed upon by someone known, or unknown. A haunting collection, its prose is clear and direct, with exquisite tension. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

Book Review: RED: A CRAYON'S STORY by Michael Hall

Wed Nov 15 2017

I am completely nuts about RED by Michael Hall, a 40-page picture book about a blue crayon who is mistakenly given a red label at the factory. Read more »


an icon image

My Interview with Laurie Jean Cannady, Author of CRAVE

Sat Nov 11 2017

I got to interview one of my writing heroes, Laurie Jean Cannady. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

My Interview with Thrity Umrigar, Author of Everybody's Son

Sat Nov 04 2017

I was first introduced to Dr. Thrity Umrigar’s work last spring when she and I both had the honor of having pieces we wrote performed in Lit Cleveland’s staged reading, Crossing Borders: Immigrant Narratives, a part of Cleveland State University’s Cleveland Humanities Festival. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

Interview and Giveaway with Courtney Maum, Author of Touch

Sat Sep 30 2017

It seems as if everyone is chatting IRL and online about the tractor beam hold screens have over our lives, and whether intimacy is the price of technology, or is enhanced by it. If you are wondering if we are headed towards further isolation and a “post-touch” society, read on. View at thedebutanteball »


an icon image

Book Review: Have You Seen CindySleigh? & Other Stories by Diane Stiglich

Tue Aug 29 2017

This book is a dream-like art-come-to-life world, where there are truths that are as immutable in this reality as in the one on the page, and stumbling across these truths is as if we find something solid to hold onto—grasping a rock after clawing at clouds. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

Interview with Erin Judge, Author of “Vow of Celibacy”

Mon Jul 24 2017

I primarily read memoir, so it took me a minute to realize that Natalie wasn’t a real person. I want to go hang out with her and drink wine, eat chocolate, talk all night. I still can’t believe she isn’t out there somewhere, designing clothes and just waiting to be my best friend. View at huffingtonpost »


Next Page


Want me in your inbox?

Copyright © 2018 Lara Lillibridge

Public domain imagery courtesy of Snappygoat.com


Tweet Follow Only_Mama