Books I've Reviewed


an icon image

Interview with Erin Judge, Author of “Vow of Celibacy”

Mon Jul 24 2017

I primarily read memoir, so it took me a minute to realize that Natalie wasn’t a real person. I want to go hang out with her and drink wine, eat chocolate, talk all night. I still can’t believe she isn’t out there somewhere, designing clothes and just waiting to be my best friend. View at huffingtonpost »


an icon image

Book Review: Tilting by Nicole Harkin

Mon Jul 17 2017

It’s hard to be a kid. It’s hard to figure out where to stand or what to do when the world is constantly shifting under your feet.   Read more »


an icon image

Book Review: QueerSpawn in Love by Kellen Anne Kaiser

Sun Jul 02 2017

Even though we are both queerspawn, Kaiser’s family makes my parents look like amateurs. View at huffingtonpost »


an icon image

Book Review: Dad #1, Dad #2: A Queerspawn View From the Closet

Mon Jun 19 2017

Book review of a memoir about growing up with two dads and a mom in Boise, Idaho. Read more »


an icon image

In Conversation With Leslie Lawrence, Author of "The Death of Fred Astaire"

Wed May 24 2017

Interview style book review of a marvelous essay collection about life, learning, and teaching. There are also children and dogs. Read more »


an icon image

Book Review of Sink or Swim: Tales from the Deep End of Everywhere by Brenda Kelley Kim

Fri Dec 16 2016

That common experience of motherhood makes this book engaging, as each story reminds me of one of my own, making reading the book feel like a conversation between new friends. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

A Review of Alejandro Zambra’s Multiple Choice (translated by Megan McDowell)

Sun Oct 23 2016

Multiple Choice is a small, weird book that is best read in one sitting, so the sections can build properly on each other (which of course I didn’t actually do, because it was summer and life interfered and I am never as assiduous as I mean to be). View at weirderary »


an icon image

Legacy of the Last World by Susan Roney-O’Brien

Sat Oct 15 2016

Roney-O’Brien’s Eve transcends religious tradition as the reader inhabits Eve’s mind and body, her nature revealed in the small details. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

On Mothering Multiples, Kathy Manta, Ed.

Sun Aug 28 2016

As mother of two singletons, I read On Mothering Multiples not in appreciation of a common experience, but to better understand the lives of women who birth multiple children at concurrent ages. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

Know the Mother by Desiree Cooper

Tue Jul 12 2016

There is no better time for flash fiction than the summer. In between corralling children to sporting events, the beach, and various summer destinations, flash or micro fiction gives a respite, like a lick of ice cream. It is easier to deal with repetitive, “Mama, look at me!” requests when one is still pondering the after-glow of a good story, and each piece’s short duration (1-9 pages each) allows Know the Mother to slide easily into a busy schedule. View at momeggreview »


an icon image

My Rabid Fan Review of Lidia Yuknavitch’s Chronology of Water

Thu Mar 17 2016

The line between admirer and stalker is in the eye of the beholder. To me, Lidia Yuknavitch brings out the 13 year old in me that went to Monkees concerts, had Monkees posters on my walls, and wore Monkees t-shirts everyday. View at weirderary »


an icon image

Book Review: The Daily Hazards of a Middle Eastern Wife by Soad Nasr

Sat Nov 14 2015

Beyond being courageous, Soad Nasr’s voice is fresh and crisp. This results in a friendly tone that is easy to access for people of all backgrounds. View at huffingtonpost »


Next Page


Want me in your inbox?

Copyright © 2017 Lara Lillibridge

Public domain imagery courtesy of Snappygoat.com


Tweet Follow Only_Mama